Gender Bias at Glasto – MUSPRA 352

I’ve been busy writing an article on the gender bias in music, I’ve been looking at Glastonbury Festival lineup posters going back to 1995, and have found some quite interesting results. What triggered this was the poster campaign by Crack in The Road last year and Emily Eavis‘ statement earlier this year promising a lineup “strong on women” at Glasto 2016. Now, what’s interesting is the resulting campaign from CITR this year: it still shows women as a minority at Glastonbury…Glastonbury-2016 glastonburyedit

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This shows something similar to what I predicted based on my research: not a huge increase in female-inclusive acts listed on the poster, but I think if I were to put some research into this, I would find a large increase in the total number of female performers at the festival.

Leave a Reply

